Skip to main content

FREE DELIVERY* on all books marked: Currently in stock (*UK Orders Only)

someone enjoying reading a book in large print

Welcome to the online Large Print Bookshop, the UK's leading retailer of large print books. It's an invaluable resource for those looking to find out more about books for the visually impaired.

Nearly all of the books listed on this site are printed in 16 point font size.

 
 

Book of the Month

 See What I Have Done - Sarah Schmidt

LargeprintOur Price: 19.50  - Click book title for availability and further details

Haunting, gripping and gorgeously written, SEE WHAT I HAVE DONE by Sarah Schmidt is a re-imagining of the unsolved American true crime case of the Lizzie Borden murders, for fans of BURIAL RITES and MAKING A MURDERER.

'Eerie and compelling' Paula Hawkins

'Stunning' Sunday Times

'Gripping... outstanding' Observer

'Glittering' Irish Times

Just after 11am on 4th August 1892, the bodies of Andrew and Abby Borden are discovered. He's found on the sitting room sofa, she upstairs on the bedroom floor, both murdered with an axe.

It is younger daughter Lizzie who is first on the scene, so it is Lizzie who the police first question, but there are others in the household with stories to tell: older sister Emma, Irish maid Bridget, the girls' Uncle John, and a boy who knows more than anyone realises.

In a dazzlingly original and chilling reimagining of this most notorious of unsolved mysteries, Sarah Schmidt opens the door to the Borden home and leads us into its murkiest corners, where jealousies, slow-brewed rivalries and the darkest of thoughts reside.


(You can remove it later)

 

 

Other large print books we like

 

1. Year of Wonders: Insight Study Guide to Geraldine Brooks' novel - Virginia Lee

Largeprint (Paperback) Our price: 16.99  - Currently in stock

This text guide is written by a highly experienced classroom teacher of senior English and Literature who is currently Head of English at Emmaus College in Melbourne. She is a long - established and top writer of Insight Text Guides and co - author of a number of English text books who is known for her clear and incisive thinking. This is a top text guide!

(You can remove it later)

2. A Thousand Stars - Penelope Dyan

Largeprint (Paperback) Our price: 9.20  - Currently in stock

Have you ever wondered what happened to all the stars you used to see in the sky? Our protagonist did and she went on her very own quest and asked everyone she knew where they thought the stars had gone, until she finally found her answer, and what a big surprise when the answer came with a very simple solution. Stars are very important to us as well as to nature. Read this book to find out why. Written by award winning author, attorney and former teacher, Penelope Dyan, this book once again can be used as a teaching tool to open a scientific discussion as well as to teach some important learning skills. Repetition and rhyme are the tools used to make learning fun. See if you can guess what words are coming next. When you are finished reading the book see if you can write your own story and make your own book about the stars. Penelope Dyan promises it will be fun. Then look up into the night sky and see what you can see up there! And there is also a video that goes with this book on YouTube on the Bellissimavideo channel where you can hear Penelope Dyan sing! Use the video to enhance the learning experience and to make learning new things even more fun. But don't stop there. Learn all you can about galaxies and stars and the far off places in the recesses of your imagination.

(You can remove it later)

3. Notes From the Underground - Fyodor Dostoevsky

Largeprint (paperback) Our price: 9.99  - Currently in stock

Considered by many to be the first modern novel, this is the absorbing journal of a man who is alienated from society and immobilized by his feeling of unjustified insignificance.

(You can remove it later)

4. Orfeo - Richard Powers

Largeprint (paperback) Our price: 14.99  - Currently in stock

LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2014

Seventy-year old avant-garde composer Peter Els opens the door one evening to find the police outside. His DIY microbiology lab has come to the attention of Homeland Security. Panicked by the raid on his house, Els flees and turns fugitive, waiting for the evidence to clear him and for the alarm surrounding his activities to blow over. But alarm turns to national hysteria...

(You can remove it later)

5. The Debutante Divorcee - Plum Sykes

Largeprint (Hardback) Our price: 13.49  - Currently in stock

Lauren Blount's life is perfectly arranged: she's very rich, very young, very thin, very pretty - & very divorced. The most reckless & glamorous of Manhattan's Debutante Divorcee set, Lauren captivates Sylvia Mortimer, the group's token newlywed.

(You can remove it later)

6. Friends, Lovers And Other Indiscretions - Fiona Neill

Largeprint (Hardback) Our price: 13.99  - Currently in stock

A richly comic and insightful novel about the underbelly of marriage and friendship from the bestselling author of 'The Secret Life of a Slummy Mummy'. Jonathan brings a group of friends together for a holiday to celebrate his 40th birthday.

(You can remove it later)

7. The Cluttered Corpse - Mary Jane Maffini

Largeprint (paperback) Our price: 7.49  - Currently in stock

Charlotte Adams is hired to organise a stuffed toy collection for Emmy Lou Rheinbeck, who is apparently being harassed by her neighbours. When Charlotte visits emmy Lou's home, one of the neighbours is dead - and Emmy Lou is confessing to murder.

(You can remove it later)

8. The Story of a New Name (Neapolitan Novels No.2) - Elena Ferrante

Largeprint (paperback) Our price: 18.99  - Currently in stock

Following 'My Brilliant Friend', this title features the two friends Lila and Elena. The two protagonists are now in their twenties. Marriage appears to have imprisoned Lila. Meanwhile, Elena continues her journey of self-discovery.

(You can remove it later)

9. Honeyville - Daisy Waugh

Largeprint (paperback) Our price: 14.99  - Currently in stock

The town of Trinidad, Colorado was a tough place to be a woman in 1913. But it was the best place in the West to find one, if you had the cash - Honeyville, they used to call it. A murder throws Inez and Dora together two women from opposite sides of town - in a town built for men. Against all odds, the well born girl and the high class hooker are drawn together in friendship. But this is a town that is rotten to the core, and beyond the rustling of silk skirts, the dancing and laughter, deadly unrest is building...

(You can remove it later)

 

Browse large
print books

 

News letter

Join our mailing list.

Email:

 

Large Print
Special Offers


Suggested
reading

Check out these great reading suggestions:


Large Print
Best Sellers